Department of Marine Geology

Home >About LUAWMS >Faculties >Department of Marine Geology


The Department of Marine Geology, Lasbela University of Agriculture, Water and Marine Sciences, Uthal, Balochistan is one of the newest department for teaching of Geology in Pakistan started functioning in 2015. Being the tremendous prospects for geological research and improvement of economic mineral deposits, ground water and hydrocarbon potential in Balochistan, the Department has significant importance. At present, the Department is offering HEC approved BS (honors) Geology program to aim and promote the scientific knowledge about the Earth and its resources. After completion of BS Degree in Geology from this University, the students would have great potential to choose careers as petroleum geologist, mineralogist, sedimentologist, engineering geologist, geochemist, environmental geologist and geophysicist.


The aim of the Department is to produce and train the students by developing critical thinking, enthusiasm, initiative and the necessary skills to become lifelong students of geology and to have high executive and academic positions in future.

Besides the teaching and research, particular emphasis is given to the field excursion of geological aspects of the country. In this way, the Department will contribute to the enrichment of science and society through the creation and dissemination of new knowledge through scientific research.


The Department seeks to provide the highest levels of education through continuous revision and expansion of our educational, research, and outreach programs in order to produce well-trained, competent, academic and professional geoscientists capable of responding to societal needs.

In brief, this comprehensive program is offered to turn out students who, at the end of their course of studies in geology and related science, are competent enough to undertake work in the field and laboratories as professional geologists or to carry out further studies leading to M.Phil./Ph.D. degree in various aspects of geology.




Dr. Aleem Zahid
(Head of Department)

Dr. Mureed Hussain Khosa

Ms. Hinna Shah
(On Study Leave)
Mr. Ashraf Nadeem

Mr. Muhammad Naseer